School of Earth and Environment

    The School of Earth and Environment was founded in 1951. As one of the earliest departments of the University, it has experienced historic changes during the 70 years’ development and has been renamed seven times. In 2007, the name “School of Earth and Environment” was finally adopted.

    The School boasts high education quality, strongscientific research capacity, and distinctive characteristics. In 1981,it started to offer the master’s program of Coal Geology and Exploration. The School isone of the first few departments acquiring the authority to award master’s degree of China. It was approved to enroll Ph.D. candidates of Environmental Engineering in 2003, which is one of earliest doctoral program in the history of Anhui University of Science and Technology, and of “Geological Engineering” in 2005. In 2009 and 2011, two postdoctoral research stations of Environmental Science and Engineering, and Geological Resources and Geological Engineering were established respectively. In 2013, AnhuiAcademician Workstation was founded.

    Besides, the School has two first-level disciplinesauthorized to offerdoctoral degrees, Geological Resources and Geological Engineering, and Environmental Science and Engineering;seven master's programs, including Mineral Resource Prospecting and Exploration, Earth Exploration and Information Technology, Geological Engineering, Groundwater Science and Engineering, Environmental Science, Environmental Engineering, Environmental Geology; and seven undergraduates programs, Geological Engineering, Exploration Technology and Engineering, Environmental Engineering, Hydrology and Water Resources Engineering, Natural Geography and Resources Environment, Water Supply and Drainage, and Groundwater Science and Engineering. There is one State-level Specialty, one Demonstrative Undergraduate Program of Anhui provincial colleges and universities, one Anhui Province Undergraduate Talent Cultivation Base,two selected programs of provincial-level Excellent Engineer Training Plan,twoprovincial-level Specialty Comprehensive Reform Pilot Programs. In addition, there is one National Demonstrative Joint Training Base for Undergraduate Engineering Degree”, two key disciplines of Anhui Province, two key disciplines of Anhui University of Science and Technology, and six provincial-level excellent courses. The current enrollment is approximately 1700 full-time undergraduate students, 50 doctoral candidates, and 300master’s candidates.

    The total number of faculty and staff is 78, including 60 full time teachers. Among them, there are15 Professors, 23 Associate Professors,41 with doctoral degrees, 14 doctoral supervisors, 44 master’s supervisors, 10 postdoctoral researchers. Besides, the School has 2 double-employed Academicians, 2 members ofHigher Education Advisory Board under the Ministry of Education, and 1 Distinguished Professor. Faculty members have been awarded many honorable titles, including 1 “Prominent Teacher” of Anhui Province, 2 provincial-level “Teaching Masters”, 2 members of 1candidate of “Provincial Academic and Technical Leaders”, 3 candidates for “Provincial Young Key Teachers”, 1 winner of Provincial Outstanding Fund for Outstanding Young Scholar, 1 provincial-level “Teaching New Star”, and 3 “Discipline Leaders”, 1 “Top-notch Talent”, and 13 “Outstanding Young Key Teachers” of Anhui University of Science and Technology.

    In recent years, the School has presided over and taken part in a large number of state-level and province-level programs, including1National Key Basic ResearchProgram of China (973 Program), 3 National Key Research and Development Program of China, 24 Programs of National Natural Science Foundation of China, and over 20 Programs of Anhui Province Natural Science Foundation. Besides, it has possessed 21 national patents, received 15 science and technology awards at national level and provincial level,and authored more than 20 monographs, textbooks and 150 academic papers.

    At present, the School has set up many important scientific research platforms, includingKey Laboratory of Mine Geological Disaster Prevention and Control in Anhui Province, Mine Water Hazard Integrated Prevention and Control Coal Industry Engineering Research Center,Key Laboratory of Coal Mine Mineral Resources constructed with China National Administration of Coal Geology (CNACG),Anhui Unconventional Natural Gas Engineering Technology Research Center constructed withAnhui Province Bureau of Coal Geology. It has acquired 7 qualifications under 3 categories,Geological Hazard, Geological Exploration, and Land Planning. Faculty members and students have won over 60 prizes in state-level and provincial-level contests and competitions.

    Up to now, more than 20 thousand graduates of the School have made their own contributions to the development of our country and society. Outstanding alumni includes Peng Suping, Member of the Chinese Academy of Engineering(CAE), Qiu Nansheng,Chang Jiang Scholar,Wang Jianhua, the winner of the National Science and Technology Progress Award.


    Anhui University of Science and Technology   All Rights Reserved

    Anhui University of Science and Technology, No. 168 Taifeng Road, Huainan, Anhui Province, P. R. China 232001    Tel. 86-554-6668842